3rd CfP Computability in Europe

FINAL CALL FOR PAPERS (incl. deadline extension due to popular demand)

COMPUTABILITY IN EUROPE 2015: Evolving Computability
Bucharest, Romania
June 29 – July 3


EXTENDED Submission Deadline for LNCS: 21 January 2015
Notification of authors: 9 March 2015
Deadline for final revisions: 6 April 2015

CiE 2015 is the 11-th conference organized by CiE (Computability in Europe), a European association of mathematicians, logicians, computer scientists, philosophers, physicists and others interested in new developments in computability and their underlying significance for the real world. Previous meetings have taken place in Amsterdam (2005), Swansea (2006), Siena (2007), Athens (2008), Heidelberg (2009), Ponta Delgada (2010), Sofia (2011), Cambridge (2012), Milan (2013) and Budapest (2014)

Evolution of the universe, and us within it, invite a parallel evolution in understanding. The CiE agenda – fundamental and engaged – targets the extracting and developing of computational models basic to current challenges. From the origins of life, to the understanding of human mentality, to the characterising of quantum randomness – computability theoretic questions arise in many guises. The CiE community, this coming year meeting for the first time in Bucharest, carries forward the search for coherence, depth and new thinking across this rich and vital field of research.

In all cases we are looking for fundamental and theoretical submissions. In line with other conferences in this series, CiE 2015 has a broad scope and provides a forum for the discussion of theoretical and practical issues in Computability with an emphasis on new paradigms of computation and the development of their mathematical theory.

We particularly invite papers that build bridges between different parts of the research community.

For topics covered by the conference, please visit


The best student paper award is presented to the author(s) of the best paper, as selected by the PC, written solely by student author(s). This award is sponsored by Springer.


CiE 2015 has received funding from ASL (Association for Symbolic Logic) and EATCS (European Association for Theoretical Computer Science) that allows students who are members of ASL or EATCS and want to attend CiE 2015 to apply for travel funds or a reduction of the early registration fee.

Preference will be given to presenters of accepted papers.

Applications for ASL travel grants have to be addressed directly to ASL, with a strict deadline of March 28, 2015.

Applications for EATCS travel grants have to be sent to cie2015@fmi.unibuc.ro prior to the early registration deadline.


* John Reif (Duke Unversity)

* Steve Simpson (Pennsylvania State University)


* Ann Copestake (University of Cambridge)

* Mircea Dumitru (University of Bucharest, Public Lecture)

* Pawel Gawrychowski (Max-Planck-Institut fuer Informatik)

* Julia Knight (University of Notre Dame)

* Anca Muscholl (Universite Bordeaux)

* Gheorghe Paun (Romanian Academy)

* Alexander Razborov (University of Chicago and Steklov Mathematical Institute)

* Vlatko Vedral (University of Oxford)


* Representing streams (Organizers: Joerg Endrullis and Dimtri Hendriks)

* Automata, logic and infinite games (Organizers: Dietmar Berwanger and Ioana Leustean)

* Reverse mathematics (Organizers: Damir Dzhafarov and Alberto Marcone)

* Classical computability theory (Organizers: Marat Arslanov and Steffen Lempp)

* Bio-inspired computation (Organizers: Andrei Paun and Petr Sosik)

* History and philosophy of computing (Organizers: Christine Proust and Marco Benini)

The speakers of the special sessions may be find at http://fmi.unibuc.ro/CiE2015/sessions.html


* Marat Arslanov (Kazan) * Jeremy Avigad (Pittsburgh)
* Veronica Becher (Buenos Aires) * Arnold Beckmann (Swansea)
* Laurent Bienvenu (Paris) * Alessandra Carbone (Paris)
* Gabriel Ciobanu (Iasi) * S Barry Cooper (Leeds)
* Laura Crosilla (Leeds) * Liesbeth De Mol (Ghent)
* Walter Dean (Warwick) * Volker Diekert (Stuttgart)
* Damir Dzhafarov (Storrs, Connecticut) * Peter van Emde Boas (Amsterdam) * Rachel Epstein (Harvard) * Johanna Franklin (Hempstead, NY) * Neil Ghani (Glasgow) * Joel David Hamkins (New York) * Rosalie Iemhoff (Utrecht) * Emmanuel Jeandel (LORIA) * Natasha Jonoska (Tampa, FL) * Antonina Kolokolova (St.John’s, NL)
* Antonin Kucera (Prague) * Oliver Kutz (Magdeburg)
* Benedikt Loewe (Hamburg & Amsterdam) * Jack Lutz (Ames, IA) * Florin Manea (Kiel) * Alberto Marcone (Udine) * Radu Mardare (Aalborg) * Joe Miller (Madison, WI)
* Russell Miller (Flushing, NY) * Mia Minnes (La Jolla, CA)
* Victor Mitrana (Bucharest, co-chair) * Ian Pratt-Hartmann (Manchester) * Dag Normann (Oslo)
* Mehrnoosh Sadrzadeh (London) * Anne Smith (St Andrews)
* Mariya Soskova (Sofia, co-chair) * Susan Stepney (York) * Paul Spirakis (Patras & Liverpool)
* Jacobo Toran (Ulm) * Marius Zimand (Towson, MD)

The PROGRAMME COMMITTEE cordially invites all researchers (European and non-European) in computability related areas to submit their papers (in PDF format, maximum 10 pages using the LNCS style) for presentation at CiE 2015.

The submission site
is open.

For submission instructions consult

The CONFERENCE PROCEEDINGS will be published by LNCS, Springer Verlag.

The CONFERENCE POSTER can be downloaded from http://fmi.unibuc.ro/CiE2015/images/CiE_Poster.jpg